Announcing our judges for 2014

By at 16 September, 2014, 3:02 pm

We’ve got a fantastic judging panel lined up for this year’s Blog North Awards:

Emma Jane Unsworth is the author of  two novels: Hungry, the Stars and Everything, which won a Betty Trask Award and was shortlisted for the Portico Prize in 2012; and Animals, whichwas published by Canongate in May 2014, and is being made into a film with funding from BFI.

Wes Brown  is a novelist, short story writer, critic and blogger. He is the young people’s coordinator for the National Association of Writers in Education, works at Magma Poetry and is director of digital-only publisher Dead Ink Books.

Chris Gribble is the Chief Executive of Writers’ Centre Norwich and is currently developing a new National Centre for Writing in partnership with UEA, Arts Council England and Norwich City Council. Previously he worked for Carcanet Press and was founding director of Manchester Literature Festival.

Chris Meade is a writer, currently making a transmedia fiction at Nearlyology and doing a PhD in Digital Writing at Bath Spa University. He’s the Director of, the think and do tank exploring the future of the book, and has been CEO of Booktrust and the Poetry Society. He is also a judge of this year’s New Media Writing Prize.

Sophie Rochester founded The Literary Platform in 2009, initially as an online resource exploring the interface between literature and technology, and now a specialist consultancy. In 2010 she launched the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize. She is a Trustee for the Arvon Foundation as well as visiting lecturer at both the London College of Communications and UEA’s MA in Creative Writing.

And the final judge is, of course, YOU. The results of public voting carry the same weight as a judge, so be sure to get your votes in and help us pick this year’s best northern bloggers.

Categories : News

No comments yet.

Leave a comment